PDF or EBOOK [Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City] BY Tristram Hunt


Ts facets rather than merely its politics and the top two per cent of its populace Tristram Hunt better known as Labour MP and sometimes Guardian columnist offers a survey of conceptions of the city as it underwent rapid and seismic change in the Victorian ra This isn t a timeline history of industrialisation and urbanisation but an Campfire exploration of how both thelite and popular society understood the new urban bohemoths springing up across BritainThe space of a generation saw the greatest shift ver in the way the British lived The new cities and their industries revolutionised how People Worked And Who worked and who worked for where and how they lived and who they lived with how they got around how and what they ate what ideas they were xposed to what opportunities they had for cultural Hurrah For The Blackshirts!: Fascists and Fascism in Britain Between the Wars enrichment and hedonistic pleasures and changes in nearlyvery other facet of lifeThese were massive disruptions to traditional notions of the family the workplace and the community and they raised very serious introspection about just what the changes meant for Britain Hunt takes us through what in very simplistic terms can be considered the nation s intellectual journey in its understanding of the new industrial cities the deep scepticism of anything urban and in particular the reactionary Young England movement which idealised rural Mideval England the modern scepticism of the slum journalists and fiction writers who uated density and industry with disease and sin the slum journalists and fiction writers who uated density and industry with disease and sin the do gooders and campaigners informed by Crazy Love either Christian beliefs or a utilitarian commitment to alleviate suffering who tackled those problems the civic fathers who fought the sceptics by turning the city into an attractive and fulfilling place with community groups and intellectual societies as well as public monuments and grand buildings and finally the institutionalisation of this civic pride with themergence of genuinely local government which mbraced an activism that improved housing built transport and waste infrastructure and most importantly laid down the foundations for councils which were a force for good in peoples livesIt is through this intellectual journey that the British revamped their cities from the dirty unhealthy and over crowded anarchy of the arly Victorian ra into the clean rational and beautiful cities which beueathed the built nvironment still njoy todayThe chapter cataloguing Joseph Chamberlain s transformation of Birmingham through his leadership on the council is specially inspiring This is not only a high point in the history but a high point in the book itself Hunt s discussion of Chamberlain is a well focused narrative which uses one man s story to illustrate a larger trend This Black Heart, Red Ruby engaging style is used throughout though not always to as clear anffectEven at their greatest Victorian cities were still dangerous and uneual places and the short sighted adoration of anything rural continues to infest British ideas about the right way to live But those of us dedicated to urbanism can t help but feel a pang of nvy at the Victorian social thic We only need. Ived in cities and ven as these pioneers confronted a frightening new way of life they produced an urban flowering that would influence the shape of cities for generations to come Drawing on diaries newspapers and classic works of fiction Hunt shows how the Victorians translated their nergy and ambition into realizing an astonishingly grand vision of the utopian city on a hill the new Jerusalem He surveys the great civic creations from town halls to city suares sidewalks and Dreaming Me: An African-American Woman's Buddhist Journey even sewers to reveal a story of midd. A lot of interesting info never really went anywhere Stimulating andnjoyable a great help in understanding the development of our major cities Issues concentrates too much on a few cities Manchester Birmingham to the xclusion of other provincial towns and cities and does not spend nough time on London far too hard on suburbs and new towns which is where most people live and significantly where they want to live I think the title is a mistake a grabber for fans of William Blake and Monty Python but maybe a turn off for other prospective readers Which is too bad because the book is unusually lively for a 500 page history of because the book is unusually lively for a 500 page history of cities and how they grew Lots foreign influences than I suspected on the architecture most intriguingly to me The political ups and downs of Gothic for instance You have to be ready to skip chunks about things you already know about or don t care about and linger over what is news to you and helps you see new connections This isn t about the lived reality of Victorian cities but about the ideas informing the shape of the city and how people ЯED especially people of influencenvisioned the city and what it meant to live in one Victorians really believed in the possibilities of urban life and the importance of maintaining or creating vibrant city spaces They didn t always succeed to put it mildly but they thought of as xciting places where great things could happen places that fostered civic involvement and the healthy interchange ideas That s a vision of the city we would do well to restore This marvelous history takes us through the low and high points of the development of the British cities of the 19th century The Industrial Revolution greatly xpanded the urban Population But Also Brought but also brought it poverty and dismal living conditions among the new underclass Hunt shows how individuals with a Catholic or Non Conformist background initiated urban reform on a broad scale that included public buildings city planning culture and social services It is a fascinating story told with great The Lost Art of Reading Natures Signs enthusiasmrudition and wit The author is not afraid to make links to the present and provide lessons for to day an Considering its rave reviews I found this book rather disappointing Only those who Moreno enjoy reading history as a list of white businessmen politicians and the buildings theyrected will find something for them in Building Jerusalem The tidbits of biography and historical detail nipped from primary sources are unfortunately too far between and the meandering structure demands much of the reader to get from oasis to oasis For the casual reader it s a bit lengthy and its message of the necessity of civic spirit for modern progress while optimistically driven is frought with difficulties considering the very limited historical view Hunt has here not to mention saturated in Hunt s own politics And historians can look Monsieur Pain elsewhere forually comprehensive and critically presented histories of the Victorian city in Hunt s Whiggish style or on another shelf for a well rounded presentation of the Victorian city in all From Manchester's deadly cotton works to London's literary salons a brilliant xploration of how the Victorians created the modern city Since Charles Dickens first described Coketown in Hard Times the nineteenth century city born of the industrial revolution has been a byword for deprivation pollution and criminality Yet as historian Tristram Hunt argues in this powerful new history the Coketowns of the 1800s were far than a monstrous landscape of factories and tenements By 1851 than half of Britain's population .

characters Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City

.
Compare the cheaply constructed shoeboxes we call public buildings with the sturdy grand buildings the Victorians rected for their town halls and libraries For all their faults most Victorians loved their cities and were committed to libraries For all their faults most Victorians loved their cities and were committed to them better places We could use a dose of that civic pride today Pulling together an What If extensive array of primary sources Building Jerusalem charts how the idea of the city developed throughout the Victorianra a truly fascinating and pertinent topic One of the very few criticisms is that when discussing the opposition to Joseph Chamberlain Hunt uite suddenly begins using the term conservative to describe Joseph Allday and his Economists who opposed municipal intervention Considering Hunt had defined conservatism and Toryism as The Exhaustion Breakthrough essentially anti capitalist represented by Thomas Carlyle and John Ruskin for the first two thirds of the book it is frustrating that he fails toxplore this specific shift Nonetheless the The Exhaustion Breakthrough: Unmask the Hidden Reasons You're Tired and Beat Fatigue for Good eruditeness inherent in Hunt s writingnables him to move with fluidity from the past to contemporary issues thereby further impressing the ongoing importance of Victorian discourses concerning the city This is less a history of Victorian cities than an intellectual history of Victorians relationship to modernity and industrialization of which of course cities were one important part It s rambling but rarely boringHunt begins with the dolorous statistics on life in Supplemental Book early Victorian cities In places like St Giles in London or Blackfriars in Glasgow population increased by 50 or 100% in just a few years in thearly 19th century while the amount of housing stayed the xact same From 1800 to 1841 cities like Sheffield grew from 45000 to 111000 Bradford from 13000 to 104000 and Manchester from 95000 to 310000 James Philips Kay the son of a nonconformist cotton mill owner left Edinburgh to be a doctor for the slums of Manchester and he was shocked by what he saw leading him to write The Moral and Physical Condition of the Working Class in 1832 which detailed the horrible living cond Reading this book I wonder why Labour have Tristram Hunt as Shadow ducation and not fronting down Pickles and his crew so intent on destroying local governmentA readable walk through of the ideas and people who governmentA readable walk through of the ideas and people who ideas of municipal government in our big cities in the 19thC full of men IN MONOCLES BUILDING CIVIC PRIDE AND TIRELESS CAMPAIGNERS AGAINST monocles building civic pride and tireless campaigners against faire management and the Shopocracy my new favourite history word all of whom wanted the cities to reflect the best values of Victorian BritainOf course they weren t perfect Concern for the poor was bottom of their list and they carried out Hausmann style bulldozing of the poor areas without any regard of where the poor would go when this was done without much soul searching hmm sounds familiarHunt makes a strong and passionate argument for defending local government and restoring to it powers gradually stripped from it in the last 40 years unless he s changed his ideas since he wrote this its a message that needs to be shouted much louder than it currently is. Le class power and prosperity and the liberating mission of city life Vowing to Colloquial Polish: The Complete Course for Beginners emulate the city states of Renaissance Italy the Victorians worked to turnven the smokestacks of Manchester and Birmingham into sites of freedom and art And they succeeded until twentieth century decline transformed wealthy metropolises into dangerous inner cities An original history of proud cities and confident citizens Building Jerusalem depicts an unrivaled ra that produced one of the great urban civilizations of Western history. Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City